Luckhoff High School were crowned Western Cape Kay Motsepe Provincial champions after overcoming Thembalethu High 3-1 in a highly entertaining final held over the weekend.

Luckhoff High showed great intent of winning the final when they opened the scoring through Faizon Muller after 10 minutes.

They extended their lead on the 20th minute through a well worked team goal which was finished off by Lorenzo Smith to make it 2-0 before halftime.

The teams went to the break with Luckhoff having a clear upper hand and could have extended their lead had they taken most of the chances they created later on in the game.

Thembalethu High were not walkovers though. They were more determined and later in the game, started creating some chances of their own.

They were duly rewarded when they were awarded a penalty after great interplay in the box which led to Luckhoff mistiming a tackle. Thulani Zakade took the spot kick and reduced the scoreline by scoring to 2-1.

After that goal Thembalethu gave Luckhoff a lot to think about creating a lot of chances to equalize but Luckhoff had other plans. From a well worked corner kick they scored what was the goal of the day through Faizon Muller to restore the two goal lead.

The winners walked away with R100000, gold medals and a trophy for their efforts.

The National Schools Championships will take place in Gauteng from 3-8 October 2016.

Full results below.

Match No. Field Home vs. Away
1 A Naphakade 0 Luckhoff 3
2 B Modderdam 1 Thembalethu 1
3 A Luckhoff 2 Gansbaai 1
4 B Naphakade 0 Gansbaai 1
5 A Thembalethu 1 Modderdam 0
Final Stadium Luckhoff 3 Thembalethu 1

Group A
Pos Team P W D L GF GA GD Pts
1 Luckhoff 2 2 0 0 5 1 4 6
2 Gansbaai 2 1 0 1 2 2 0 3
3 Naphakade 2 0 0 2 0 4 -4 0

Group B
Pos Team P W D L GF GA GD Pts
1 Thembalethu 2 1 1 0 2 1 1 4
2 Modderdam 2 0 1 1 1 2 -1 1

Final Standing

1. Luckhoff High School – Western Cape Champions 2016 received R100000-00, a trophy and Gold Medals

2. Thembalethu High School – Received Silver medals

3. Gansbaai Academia – Received Bronze medals