Head coach of the South African Senior Women’s National Team, Vera Pauw, has trimmed down her squad of 29.

Head coach of the South African Senior Women’s National Team, Vera Pauw, has trimmed down her squad of 29.

Pauw needs only eighteen plus four (18 – official players + 4 alternate players) to make a final squad of 22 that will represent South Africa at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games which start in August.

Goalkeepers Mpho Tefo (Kanatla Ladies) and Yolula Tsawe (JvW FC), defenders Letago Madiba (TUT Ladies) and Jabulile Mazibuko (Tuks) as well as striker Andisiwe Mgcoyi (Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies) have been left out of the squad.

Pauw says this was the toughest decision she had to make.

“The worst job of any coach in the world is to have to trim down the squad to the required official number. Unfortunately it is something that has to be done. If truth be told I hate my job when it comes to having to leave players out of the squad. And, sadly, I am well aware that I am destroying dreams so it is not something we take very lightly – we put very serious thoughts into the process that has been going on for weeks now,” said Pauw.

“But I would like to say to the players that are out of the squad, not all is totally lost because if there is a need for them to be recalled we will certainly do so. Should there be an injury they will be the first to be contacted so they cannot afford to lose hope or take it easy, they need to continue training so that if that call comes, they are ready. So the bottom line is the door is not closed on them.”

With the five players out of the squad from the initial 29, the Sasol-sponsored Banyana Banyana will now have 26 players at the start of the next training camp – with the addition of USA-based striker Jermaine Seoposenwe and goalkeeper Kaylin Swart.

But only 25 players will travel to The Netherlands.

Midfielder Silindile Ngubane will not be part of the squad as she has a family commitment, but she is expected back in camp when Banyana Banyana returns from Europe.

Pauw has until 14 July 2016 to hand in her final squad of 22 players.


1. Roxanne Barker Unattached Cape Town
2. Andile Dlamini Mamelodi Sundowns FC Johannesburg
3. Mapaseka Mpuru HPC Pretoria
1. Lebohang Ramalepe Maindis FC Polokwane
2. Nothando Vilakazi Palace Super Falcons FC Johannesburg
3. Janine Van Wyk FC Johannesburg
4. Noko Matlou Maindis FC Polokwane
5. Lerato Kgasago Mamelodi Sundowns FC Johannesburg
6. Nomathemba Ntsibande Springs Home Sweepers Johannesburg
7. Bambanani Mbane Bloemfontein Celtic Bloemfontein
8. Lebogang Mabatle TUKS Pretoria
1. Mamello Makhabane JVW FC Johannesburg
2. Amanda Dlamini University of Johannesburg Johannesburg
3. Silindile Ngubane Durban Ladies FC Pietermaritzburg
4. Refiloe Jane VUT Ladies Vaal
5. Leandra Smeda UWC Ladies Cape Town
6. Nompumelelo Nyandeni JVW FC Johannesburg
7. Bongiwe Thusi Mamelodi Sundowns Johannesburg
8. Linda Motlhalo HPC Pretoria
9. Stephanie Malherbe USA  
1. Sanah Mollo Mamelodi Sundowns FC Johannesburg
2. Shiwe Nogwanya Bloemfontein Celtic Bloemfontein
3. Thembi Kgatlana UWC Ladies Cape Town
4. Chantelle Essau Palace Super Falcons FC Johannesburg
US-based players
1. Jermaine Seoposenwe Samford University USA
2. Kaylin Swart Des Moines Menace University USA