Bafana Bafana head coach Ephraim ‘Shakes’ Mashaba has named a 25-man squad that will take on Cameroon in crucial back-to-back 2017 Gabon Orange Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers.

Bafana Bafana head coach Ephraim ‘Shakes’ Mashaba has named a 25-man squad that will take on Cameroon in crucial back-to-back 2017 Gabon Orange Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers. South Africa and the Indomitable Lions first meet on Saturday, 26 March 2016 at Stade Omnisport de Limbe in Limbe, Cameroon.

Kick-off for that clash is at 15h30 local time (16h30 South African time).

The two nations will then take their battle to Durban for the second leg which will be played three days later – Tuesday, 29 March 2016 – at Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban which kicks off at 19h00.

The return leg marks a very important occasion for both countries as it was 24 years ago when the two nations first clashed in a match to mark South Africa’s readmission into the international fold.

Bafana Bafana won the international frendly match 1-0 through a Doctor Khumalo penalty in the 82nd minute at the Kings Park Rugby Stadium in Durban.

In seven matches, South Africa has only lost once to Cameroon with three wins and three draws – the 2-1 loss coming in their second meeting back in 1992 in Cape Town.

Mashaba has a mammoth task to get South Africa’s campaign back on the road after his charges managed just one point from two matches.

“These two matches are almost a make-or-break for us. If we want to resurrect our campaign, these are the matches that we will have to do well in. I have heard people talking about must-win matches – and these are the ones. We have only one point and they have six – and to add salt to the wound, some of our key players are not active in their clubs, have lost form, are out injured or have just returned from injury.

“But that is no excuse, the show must go on – we have to put up a fight as though our lives depend on these matches. I believe we have selected a strong team that will deliver,” said Mashaba.

Bafana Bafana last played a competitive match in November last year when they defeated Angola in back to back 2018 Russia FIFA World Cup qualifiers.

“Unfortunately because of the non-availability of a FIFA date, we have not been able to prepare as thoroughly as we would have liked but lack of enough time to prepare should not blind from our mission, even though they have an edge over us as most of their players, if not all, ply their trade abroad and have been very active,”added the Bafana Bafana mentor.

“I just hope the players are aware of what is at stake because these are no ordinary matches. Negative results will see us not active on the international scene for a long time, and if that is not motivation enough for boys to do well, then nothing will be. There are 12 points on offer and it’s up to us what we do with them. The reality is that it is still in our hands,” added the Bafana Bafana mentor.

South Africa is in Group M of the AFCON qualifiers with Cameroon, Gambia and Mauritania.

The Indomitable Lions lead the group with six points, three ahead of Mauritania. Bafana Bafana and Gambia on one point each.

NB: The winner of the group will progress to the 16-nation AFCON finals, along with two best-placed runners up.

South Africa’s 2017 AFCON Results

South Africa 0 – 0 Gambia 13 June 2015 (Durban)
Mauritania 3 – 1 South Africa 5 September 2015 (Nouakchott)

Remaining 2017 AFCON Fixtures:

Cameroon vs South Africa Saturday, 26 March 2016 (Limbe, Cameroon)
South Africa vs Cameroon Tuesday, 29 March 2016 (Durban)
Gambia vs South Africa 3, 4, 5 June 2016
South Africa vs Mauritius 2, 3, 4 September 2016

Group M Standings:

1. Cameroon 2 2 0 0 2 0 6
2. Mauritania 2 1 1 0 3 2 3
3. South Africa 2 0 1 1 1 3 1
4. Gambia 2 0 1 1 0 1 1


(Below is the Bafana Bafana squad to face Cameroon)

1. Itumeleng KHUNE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
2. Jackson MABOKGWANE Mpumalanga Aces FC (SA)
3. Darren KEET KV Kortrijk FC (Belgium)
4. Siyabonga NHLAPO Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
5. Asavela MBEKILE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
6 Anele NGCONGCA Troyes FC (France)
7. Thabo MATLABA Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
8. Cheslyn JAMPIES Jomo Cosmos FC (SA)
9. Erick MATHOHO Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
10. Sifiso HLANTI Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
11. Rivaldo COETZEE Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
12. Thulani HLATSHWAYO Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
13. Andile JALI KV Oostende FC (Belgium)
14. Kamohelo MOKOTJO FC Twente (Nederland)
15. Thulani SERERO Ajax Amsterdam FC (Nederland)
16. Themba ZWANE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
17. William TWALA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
18. Jabulani SHONGWE Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
19. Mpho MAKOLA Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
20. Mandla MASANGO Randers FC (Denmark)
21. Hlompho KEKANA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
22. Thamsanqa GABUZA Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
23. Prince NXUMALO Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
24. Tokelo RANTIE AFC Bournemouth FC (ENG)
25. Dino NDLOVU Anorthosis Famagusta FC (Cyprus)