Amajimbos lost 2-0 to Russia in their last group E match on Sunday in Concepcion, Chile.

Amajimbos lost 2-0 to Russia in their last group E match on Sunday in Concepcion, Chile.

In what was meant to be a must-win for South Africa turned to be a long day of bad luck as the boys played their hearts out but failed to score throughout the match.

Russia got the only goal of the match as early as five minutes into the match, when Mukumela brought down a Russian striker in the box. Referee Diego Haro was very quick to point to the penalty spot as South Africa had conceded a penalty in all their group matches. The Russian captain Makhatadze stepped up and took an easy penalty to give his team the lead.

South Africa displayed their best performance in their first ever FIFA World Cup tonight, however the goals were just not there. Mbatha brought the stadium to a light as he controlled the tempo of the game, but still no goals came his way.

Amajimbos went into the second half still on the back foot knowing that they needed to score to goals to hopefully stand a chance to get a place in the last 16, but luck was just not on their side as so many opportunities were missed.
Mayo had a chance from a Maluleke set piece, but was half a second late, Kodisang shot from range a few times with saves from the keeper, Mbatha was denied, but the cross bar and great saves from the keeper a few times and Maluleke just couldn’t get the goal he was searching for.

Russia found their second goal in the dying minutes of the match, when Dlala made a foul in the centre of the field. The Russian captain saw an opportunity as goalkeeper Mpoto was off his line. Makhatadze took a bold move and took a shot from the centre line giving Russia the 9 points they were looking for to book their spot in the round of 16.

South Africa: Mondli Mpoto; Reeve Frosler; Thendo Mukumela; Riyaaz Ismail; Notha Ngcobo; Athenkosi Dlala; Nelson Maluleke(c); Sibongakonke Mbatha; Vuyo Mantjie (Kobamelo Kodisang); Khanyisa Mayo(Dylan Stoffels 80’); Luvuyo Mkatshana

Subs: Sanele Tshabalala; Walter Kubheka; Simon Nqoi; Keanu Cupido; Wiseman Meyiwa; Tebogo Qinisile; Dylan Stoffels; Sphephelo Sithole;

Russia: Aleksandr Maksimenko; Danil Krugovoi; Alexey Tataev; Ivam Galanin; George Makhatadze (c); Fedor Chalov; Boris Tsygankov; Alexander Lomovitskiy; Nikolay Prudnikov; Semen Matvichuk; Andrie Zakharov

Subs: Denis Adamov; Andrie Kudriavtcev; Konstantin Kotov; Dmitrii Pletnev; Egor Denisov; Anatolii Anisimov; Pavel Lelyukhin; Amir Gavrilov; Konstantin Kuchaev; Ivan Zirokov

Match Officials: Referee: Diego Haro (PER)); 1ST Ass. Ref: Raul Lopez( PER); 2nd Ass Ref: Victor Raez (PER) 4th official: Oscar Reyna (GUA).