The Bafana Bafana squad to face Angola next Saturday has been named.

The Bafana Bafana squad to face Angola next Saturday has been named.

“Despite all the challenges we are normally faced with in having a team for CHAN tournament as it does not fall within the FIFA dates, I am confident this team will compete and compete hard,” said coach Shakes Mashaba.

The CHAN team will in the meantime be in the hands of assistant coach Thabo Senong assisted by Helman Mkhalele but will be bolstered by the return of both Mashaba and Owen da Gama from South America next Thursday.

The two are expected back in South Africa on 15 October to prepare for this first leg clash which will be played at the Rand Stadium. The match kicks off at 15h00.


Goalkeepers: Nkosingiphile Gumede (Golden Arrows), Wayne Sandilands (Mamelodi Sundowns), Dumisani Msibi (Supersport Utd)

Defenders: Siyanda Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns), Wandisile Letlabika (Bloemfontein Celtics), Levy Mokgothu (Kaizer Chiefs), Thabo September (Supersport Utd), Madisha Motjeka (Mamelodi Sundowns), Mario Booysen (Mamelodi Sundowns), Rofhiwa Tshikovhi (Platinum Stars), Tebogo Moerane (Bidvest Wits)

Midfielders: Thabo Qalinge (Orlando Pirates), Thato Sithole (Jomo Cosmos), Thamsanqa Sangweni ( Chippa), Lyle Lakay (Bloemfontein Celtics), Mlungisi Mbunjane (Cape Town All Stars), Morne Nel (Supersport United), Vincent Pule (Bidvest Wits), Amigo Luvuyo Memela (Orlando Pirates), Michael Morton (Supersport Utd), Hendrik Pule Eksteen (Kaizer Chiefs)

Strikers: Bongani Ndulula (Kaizer Chiefs), Dumisane Zuma (Bloemfontein Celtics), Gift Motupa ( Orlando Pirates), Bradley Grobbler (Supersport Utd), Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns).