The South African National U23 Men’s Team lost 2 – 1 to Tunisia in their second international friendly match of Monday afternoon at Stade Olympique Elmenzah.

Tunisia took the visitors by surprise when they won a set piece just a few meters outside the box in the second minute of the match. Bguir gave Jody February a run for his money when he scored a stunner into the top left corner of the net.

The hosts were out for revenge following the hammering they received last Friday, and did not give South Africa a chance to play the ball. Dolly who captained the team on the day tried to get his teammates into the game with his fancy footwork but was fouled each time he touched the ball.

Lebogang Mothiba who scored a brace in his debut match as marked by three defenders in the first half. Although South Africa had the better of the possession in the first half they were not able to penetrate the defense of Tunisia.

ODG brought in Siphelele Ntshangase for Khaya Shozi at half time to try and get a bit more creativity into the boys and this assisted as South Africa found themselves a bit more in the 18 yard area of Tunisia. Deolin Mekoa was brought in five minutes later for Seun Ledwaba while Menzi Masuku was given a rest in the 61st minute when he made way for Dumisani Zuma.

A defensive error in the 65th minute or lack of communication between South African goalkeeper Jody February and centre back Thabo Makhele gave Kchouk of Tunisia an easy tap in, taking the game to 2-0 in favour of the hosts.

ODG then made a man for man substitution when Lebogang Mothiba made way for Zaid Patel in the 72nd minute as they still searched for their opening goal of the day. In the dying seconds of the match South Africa’s Thabo Makhele pulled on back with a great header following a Keagan Dolly set piece, and ended 2-1 in favour of Tunisia.

South Africa: Ricardo Goss; Thabo Makhele; Seun Ledwaba; Denwin Farmer; Zitha Macheke ; Morne Nel; Lebogang Phiri; Khayelihle Shozi; Keagan Dolly(c); Menzi Masuku; Lebo Mothiba

Subs: Mbulelo Ngqobe; Tebogo Moerane; Siyabonga Dube; Zaid Patel; Dumisani Zuma; Siphelele Ntshangase.