Bafana Bafana coach Ephraim Mashaba has selected a 25-man squad for the 2017 Orange Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Mauritania.


Bafana Bafana coach Ephraim Mashaba has selected a 25-man squad for the 2017 Orange Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Mauritania.

The Group M clash will take place on Saturday, 5 September 2015 in Nouakchott, Mauritania.

Kick-off is 17h00 in Mauritania (19h00 SA Time).

Bafana Bafana drew 0-0 with Gambia in the opening match of the qualifiers at Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban.

“Even though this match comes after a well-deserved rest, not just for the players but also for the technical team, due to the spacing in between, it has also killed the momentum of the team. But I have complete confidence in the players that we have selected and I believe they will deliver,” said Mashaba.

The Bafana Bafana mentor said he was confident of getting a good result in the West African country.

“Some of the players have been on a long break and only started playing recently, but I know we will get the result we want. If you look at the squad we have picked, it is based on the opposition. They recently lost by a narrow margin to Cameroon, which means we cannot take them lightly,” said Mashaba adding it was imperative to give total application.

“We need to drum into our players the fact that they should not look at the opposition and stop asking who Mauritania is. Let’s give them the respect they deserve. We need to score first and demoralise them because if they net first they might make it difficult for us to come back. In short we have to go there prepared so we can get a result.”

Mashaba said some people may look at the two teams’ rankings and think it will be a walk in the park for Bafana Bafana.

“Rankings don’t mean much on the field of play. Mauritania held Cameroon for the better part of their match in June, away in Cameroon so it clearly shows we need to be at our best to come back victorious,” added Mashaba.

Bafana Bafana will go into camp on Sunday, 30 August in Johannesburg. They are expected to depart for Mauritania on Thursday, 3 September.

South Africa’s 2017 AFCON Fixtures:

South Africa       0 – 0        Gambia            13 June 2015 (Durban)

Mauritania          vs            South Africa       5 September 2015 (Nouakchott)

Cameroon           vs            South Africa       23,24, 25, 26 March 2016

South Africa       vs            Cameroon           26, 27, 28, 29 March 2016

Gambia               vs            South Africa       3, 4, 5 June 2016

South Africa       vs            Mauritania          2, 3, 4 September 2016








1. Jackson MABOKGWANE Mpumalanga Aces FC (SA)
2. Itumeleng KHUNE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
3. Ronwen WILLIAMS Supersport United FC (SA)
4. Erick MATHOHO Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
5. Rivaldo COETZEE Ajax Cape Town  FC (SA)
6. Thulani HLATSHWAYO Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
7. Siyabonga NHLAPHO Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
8. Anele NGCONGCA Racing Genk FC (Belgium)
9. Mzikayise MASHABA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
10. Siyabonga ZULU Platinum Stars FC (SA)
11. Tsepo MASILELA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
12. Dean FURMAN Supersport United FC (SA)
13. Andile JALI KV Oostende FC (Belgium)
14. Bongani ZUNGU Sundowns FC (SA)
15. Mandla MASANGO Randers FC (Denmark)
16. Phumlani NTSHANGASE Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
17. Jabulani SHONGWE Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
18. Themba ZWANE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
19. Mpho MAKOLA Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
20. Ayanda PATOSI Lokeren FC (Belgium)
21. Daylon CLASSEN 1860 Munich (Germany)
22. Thulani SERERO Ajax Amsterdam FC (Holland)
23. Thamsanqa GABUZA Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
24. Sibusiso VILAKAZI Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
25. Tokelo RANTIE AFC Bounermouth FC (England)