The first semifinal of the 2015 Durban International Tournament kicked off with South Africa on the back foot as they could not contain the attacking pair of PSV Eindhoven along with their height. The South African’s spent the better half of the first half defending as they were under pressures all the time.

Twenty one minutes into the match Kabelo Seriba fouled a PSV forward and referee Chris Harrison pointed straight at the penalty spot no questions asked. The match went into half time with the host country trailing by a goal to nil.

Coach Thabo Senong made a tactical substitution at the start of the second half taking Thulane Nkosi off for Zama Rambuwane in search of a goal, this move gave PSV the advantage as to go two goals up with a wide range shot from Verreth in the 48th. In the 61st minute South Africa found their goal through great team work as Aghmat Ceres tapped in a beautiful cross to keep to the supporters on their side 2-1.

“Firstly congratulations to PSV Eindhoven they gave us a run for our money, thank you to the boys for displaying wonderful football. They are a bunch on great players and clearly our Vision 2022 is on point. I also want to congratulate the u19 KwaZulu Natal squad they displayed some great football too. These type of tournaments are wonderful for the development of the game because these youngest are exposed to different styles of play from around the world,” said Thabo Senong.

South Africa with play in the 3rd/4th play off on Saturday 8 August 2015 against either Arsenal or VfB Stuttgart at Moses Mabhida Stadium, kick off is scheduled for 15:00.

South African Starting XI: Tsebo Tsotetsi; Kabelo Seriba; Tebogo Rahlogo; Lehlohonolo Mtshali ( c ); Tshidiso Monamodi; Thulane Nkosi; Masilake Phohlongo; Aghmat Ceres; Shane Saralina; Keletso Makgalwa; Teboho Mokoena

Substitutions: Darren Johnson; Solomon Letsoenyo; Siyney Mtshweni; Sphesihle Sangweni; Tlou Masegela; Karabo Ngwenya;  Zama Rambuwane; Lehlonhonlo Mohlabai.

PSV Eindhoven Starting XI: Mikkelsen Lasse; Abels Dirk; Peijnenburg Maarten (c); Naciri Taoufiq; Rommens Philippe; Rigo Dante; Groeneveld Arnaut; Mouritsen Mathias; Verreth Mathias; Fernandes Leandro; Scamacca Gianluca.

Substitutions: Bannani Karim; Berden Martyn; Van dee Moot Dani; Danneels Lennerd; Tanriver Kaan; Konings Joey; Hattu Jaell; Van de Meulenhof Mike; Obispo Armando.